INSA Announces Recipients of 2024 Charlie Allen Achievement Awards

January 10, 2024

ARLINGTON, VA (January 10, 2024) –The Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) today announced the recipients of the 2024 Charlie Allen Achievement Awards. The awards, to be presented on February 15 at the Army Navy Country Club in Arlington, VA, acknowledge the exceptional contributions of six early to mid-career intelligence, national security, and homeland security professionals; as well as one senior leader for their sustained commitment to building and mentoring a worldclass workforce. Now in its 45th year, INSA is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit association that fosters collaboration among the public, private, and academic sectors to collectively address critical national security priorities

A committee of senior leaders from across INSA’s membership selected the following recipients: 

Ms. Faye Cuevas 

Deputy Chief of Staff, U.S. Special Operations Command—Africa  
Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award 

Mr. Jason Payne

Research Lead, Directed Energy Bioeffects, Air Force Research Laboratory  
Sidney D. Drell Science & Technology Award

Mr. Nathaniel Bundy 

Lead Threat Analyst, National Space Defense Center  
Richard J. Kerr Government Award

Ms. Julia Buffinton 

Program Manager, LMI 
Edwin H. Land Industry Award

Ms. Jennifer Finley 

Communication & Networking Systems Assistant Group Supervisor, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory  
Edwin H. Land Industry Award

LCDR Iris Kaku, USN 

Chief of Analysis, Indications and Warning, U.S. Navy Pacific Fleet
William O. Studeman Military Award

Ms. Amanda Nashed 

Homeland Security Analyst, Office of Intelligence, Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia 
John W. Warner Homeland Security Award 

The selection committee found Buffinton and Finley to be exceptional nominees for the Edwin H. Land Industry Award and named them dual recipients.

“These remarkable individuals reflect the best of our intelligence and national security workforce,” said INSA President Suzanne Wilson Heckenberg. “With the awards program newly named in honor of Charlie Allen, they all epitomize his defining qualities—passion for the mission, unwavering commitment to excellence, and profound love of country. We look forward to sharing their inspiring stories and honoring their impressive accomplishments."

The Charlie Allen Achievement Awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, February 15, from 6:00-9:30 pm at the Army Navy Country Club in Arlington, VA, with a keynote address from Ms. Tonya Wilkerson, Deputy Director of NGA. This event is open to the press.