INSA Achievement Award Recipients

INSA is proud of its Achievement Award recipients and their legacy of meaningful contributions to the intelligence and national security communities. Recipients have served their respective missions from all parts of the country and the world, including California, Colorado, Florida, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania, as well as Italy and Afghanistan. 

Learn more about these amazing professionals by reading their award citations, found in the press release and program links below.

NOTE: Due to the ceremony moving from fall to winter, no ceremony was held in 2015. The Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award was established in 2011. 


  • Land Award: Jaime Arribas Starkey-El, Data Scientist & Software Engineer, The Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab
  • Kerr Award: Mary Ann Kissinger, Requirements and Integration Analyst, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
  • Drell Award: Marylesa Howard, PhD, Principal Scientist, Nevada National Security Site, Department of Energy
  • Dempsey Award: Cadienne Naquin Hopkins, Senior Business Development Manager, Altana AI; Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer, The Command Purpose Foundation
  • Studeman Award: MSgt Elizebeth L. Harris, USAF, Operations Superintendent, All-Domain Overhead Cooperative Operations Group, Mission Integration Directorate, National Reconnaissance Office
  • Warner Award: Shadi Elreda, Special Agent, Homeland Security Investigations, U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security

View Event Recap


  • Meghan Flannery Hayes, Complex Systems Monitoring Department Head, Applied Research Laboratory at Penn State
  • Meg Guliford, Vice-Provost Post Doctoral Fellow, Perry World House, University of Pennsylvania
  • Darek Kawamoto, Principal Engineer, Algorithms, HawkEye360
  • Victoria Rossi, Intelligence Research Specialist, CISA/DHS
  • Maj. Arturo A. "Jay" Tibayan, Jr., USA, Duty Officer, White House Situation Room, National Security Council, The White House
  • Jessica S. Van Cleaf, SIGINT Program Manager, Assistant Commandant for Intelligence, U.S. Coast Guard, CG-257
View the Event Recap



(L-R) INSA President Suzanne Wilson Heckenberg; Franklin Mosca, FBI; David P. Oakley, National Defense University; The Hon. Ellen McCarthy, U.S. Department of State; Megan Jaffer, Amazing Women of the IC; TSgt. William N. Haskell (USAF), NRO; INSA Chairman Letitia A. Long. Not pictured: Anita Brown, U.S. Department of State; Abe Usher, Black Cape. Event Recap // Read Awardee Citations.



(L-R) INSA Chairman Letitia A. Long; Adam Van Etten, PhD, In-Q-Tel CosmiQ Works; Dakota S. Rudesill, Ohio State University; Lori Anne Parker, DHS;  Lieutenant General Robert P. Ashley, Jr., DIA; Saeben Haverington, U.S. Customs and Border Protection; Philip Haddad, DHS; Capt. Nicholas D'Andrea, USAF, NRO; J. Travis Thompson, DIA; INSA President Chuck Alsup. Press Release // Recap // Read Awardee Citations.



(L-R) Patrick Biltgen, PhD, Vencore; Lt. Adrienne Walsh, FDNY; LT Rachel O. Carter, USN, USSOCOM;  Allison Lawlor Russell, PhD, Merrimack College; Don Parlett, DIA; David Lindenbaum, In-Q-Tel; SMSgt Timothy Favreau, USAF, NRO. Press Release // Recap.



(L-R) Thomas D. Smith, Dept. of Treasury; CPT Brigid K. Calhoun, USA; Janna Scott-Tarman, DIA; Sean Sullivan, ICE; DIA Director Lt. Gen. Vincent Stewart, USMC; Sara Jamshidi, Applied Research Lab-Penn State; Mandy Rogers, Northrop Grumman. Commemorative Program (PDF)



(L-R) INSA Chairman Letitia A. Long; Robert A. Lagnado, Secret Service; Candace P. Sharkey, DEA; Satyabrata Sen, PhD, Oak Ridge National Lab; Director of National Intelligence James Clapper; LT Jared McGuire, USCG, Cryptologic Unit Colorado; Zalenda Cyrille, Vencore; Cynthia M. Epler, DIA; INSA President Chuck Alsup.

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.