Contact: Ryan Pretzer
(703) 224-4672

Robert Mueller to Receive 2017 William Oliver Baker Award

Longest-serving FBI director since J. Edgar Hoover to be recognized June 9 in Washington, D.C.

ARLINGTON, VA (February 28, 2017) –
The Honorable Robert S. Mueller III, who as director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation led the FBI’s transformation into a threat-based, intelligence-led national security organization, has been selected to receive the 33rd William Oliver Baker Award from the Intelligence and National Security Alliance, INSA Chairman Letitia A. Long has announced.

Mr. Mueller became the FBI’s sixth director one week prior to September 11, 2001. He is widely credited for his leadership of the Bureau in the immediate aftermath of Al Qaeda’s attacks on the U.S. homeland and beginning the FBI’s evolution from a traditional law enforcement agency to a threat-based, intelligence-led organization with responsibilities ranging from cyber threats to counterterrorism and counterintelligence.

Ms. Long said, “The leadership and vision that Robert Mueller demonstrated in the critical years following 9/11 made our Nation safer and positioned the FBI to become the unparalleled law enforcement and intelligence agency it is today. The FBI’s close relationship with its Intelligence Community partners can be traced to Director Mueller and his deep understanding of the need to integrate law enforcement and foreign intelligence to defend against 21st century threats. INSA is very pleased to recognize Director Mueller for his lifetime of distinguished public service.”

Mr. Mueller will be recognized at the annual William Oliver Baker Award Dinner on Friday, June 9, 2017, at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Mr. Mueller said, “I am honored to receive the William Oliver Baker Award and join its distinguished list of recipients. It is a pleasure to see the FBI’s contributions to national intelligence acknowledged in such a manner. I accept this recognition on behalf of everyone at the FBI whose efforts over the years have helped the Bureau strengthen partnerships with the Intelligence Community, state and local law enforcement, and the private sector. Such partnerships are essential to national security.”

President George W. Bush nominated Mr. Mueller, then the U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of California, for the FBI directorship on July 5, 2001. The U.S. Senate unanimously confirmed his 10-year term, which began September 4, 2001. President Barack Obama requested an extension of Mr. Mueller’s term as director, calling him “the gold standard for leading the Bureau.” The U.S. Senate again voted unanimously, 100-0, to extend Mr. Mueller’s term for two years, until September 2013. In total, four U.S. presidents – two Democrats and two Republicans – appointed Mr. Mueller to a Senate-confirmed position.

Mr. Mueller’s career in law enforcement began with the U.S. Department of Justice as a federal prosecutor in 1976, first in San Francisco and then Boston, where he was Acting U.S. Attorney for the District of Massachusetts from 1986 to 1987. In 1990 he was confirmed as Assistant Attorney General for the Criminal Division. In this role, Mr. Mueller oversaw the division’s successful prosecutions of Panamanian dictator and drug trafficker Manuel Noriega and New York City crime boss John Gotti. He also was intimately involved in the first prosecutions related to the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland.

A U.S. Marine Corps officer during the Vietnam War, Mr. Mueller received the Bronze Star, two Navy Commendation Medals, the Purple Heart, and the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry. Following military service, Mr. Mueller received his Juris Doctor from the University of Virginia School of Law. He also holds a master’s degree in international relations from New York University and a bachelor’s degree from Princeton University.

Mr. Mueller currently is a partner at the law firm WilmerHale, where he focuses on investigations, crisis management, privacy and cybersecurity work.

The Baker Award, established in 1984, is awarded annually in recognition of individuals who have made sustained contributions or single achievements of extraordinary merit to the intelligence and national security affairs of the United States. The Baker Award Selection Committee is comprised of members from INSA’s leadership, board of directors, and board of advisors.

Baker Award recipients since 2000: 

  • 2016 – John McLaughlin
  • 2010 – Bob Gates
  • 2004 – Joan A. Dempsey
  • 2015 – Congressmen Mike Rogers (R-MI) and Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
  • 2009 – Senator John Warner (R-VA)
  • 2003 – George Tenet
  • 2014 – Leon Panetta
  • 2008 – Richard Kerr
  • 2002 – Charlie Allen
  • 2013 – Michael Hayden
  • 2007 – Bill Studeman
  • 2001 – Dr. Sidney D. Drell
  • 2012 – Art Money
  • 2006 – James Clapper
  • 2000 – William J. Perry
  • 2011 – Mike McConnell
  • 2005 – Brent Scowcroft

About the William Oliver Baker Award

A remarkable scientist and inventor, Dr. William Oliver Baker helped usher in the digital age, setting the foundation for the robust technologies and platforms used today, including lasers, satellites and telecommunications. He joined AT&T’s Bell Laboratories in 1939, serving as vice president for research from 1955-1972 and president from 1973-79. Beginning in 1956, Dr. Baker served on the President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board. He advised Presidents Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Reagan on scientific affairs, particularly intelligence-gathering technologies.

INSA’s predecessor organization, the Security Affairs Support Association (SASA), awarded Dr. Baker the SASA Medal of Achievement in 1984. It was known henceforth as the Baker Award. Scientist, Inventor, Scholar, Statesman are etched on the Baker Award medal, reflecting the many roles in which Dr. Baker significantly influenced U.S. intelligence and national security affairs.

About INSA
The Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) is the premier intelligence and national security organization that brings together the public, private and academic sectors to collaborate on the most challenging policy issues and solutions. As a nonprofit, nonpartisan, public-private organization, INSA’s ultimate goal is to promote and recognize the highest standards within the national security and intelligence communities. INSA has 160 corporate members and several hundred individual members who are leaders and senior executives throughout government, the private sector and academia.